Promise breaking changeling.

I received Chris Adrian’s forthcoming collection of stories, A Better Angel, in the mail yesterday.

Hot damn! that guy can write.  I put aside my other current reads (because Dr. Gal-Chen prefers that I decide what I want to read, and when) to have a look, in particular for his story “Promise Breaker,” which originally appeared in Esquire, right here you cheapskate.  But seriously, go read that story, and tell me if it doesn’t knock you over.  I don’t want to say anything about what the story tackles, but I felt it did justice in a good, solid way to the event referenced – which is especially fitting, given the requests/demands of the boy in the story.  I keep telling people to read it, and here it is again: go read it.  It is included in the collection (renamed “The Changeling”) and reading it again last night, it hadn’t lost anything.  Great stuff.

One thought on “Promise breaking changeling.

  1. Pingback: Maud Newton: Blog

Leave a Reply

