Obama.

Shepardfaireybarackobama

"I believe with great conviction that Barack Obama should be the next
President. I have been paying close attention to him since the
Democratic convention in 2004. I feel that he is more a statesman than
a politician. He was against the war when it was an unpopular position
(and Hillary was for the war at that time), Obama is for energy and
environmental conservation. He is for healthcare reform. Check him out
for yourself www.barackobama.com.

Proceeds from this print go to
produce prints for a large statewide poster campaign."
Thanks.
-Shepard  (via)

I don’t know how to elaborate on the reasons why I’m supporting Obama without coming across as hackneyed.  I’ll save that for another time.  A conservative blogger and journalist has been covering the race closely and this post is one among many that are worth reading, if you’re looking at the three Democrats in contention – hell, if you’re looking at all the candidates.

UPDATE:  From the same site as that last link:

"I had just been asked a question — I don’t remember which one — and
Obama was sitting right next to me. Then the moderator went across the
room, I think to Chris Dodd, so I thought I was home free for a while.
I wasn’t going to listen to the next question. I was about to say
something to Obama when the moderator turned to me and said, ‘So, Gov.
Richardson, what do you think of that?’ But I wasn’t paying any
attention! I was about to say, ‘Could you repeat the question? I wasn’t
listening.’ But I wasn’t about to say I wasn’t listening. I looked at
Obama. I was just horrified. And Obama whispered, ‘Katrina. Katrina.’
The question was on Katrina! So I said, ‘On Katrina, my policy . . .’
Obama could have just thrown me under the bus. So I said, ‘Obama, that
was good of you to do that,’" – Bill Richardson, currently weighing whether to back the Illinois senator.

Do you think HRC would have done the same thing? 

Today:

The problem: after Florida defied the Democratic National Committee
and moved its primary to an early position, the party stripped the
state of its delegates. All the major candidates, out of respect to the
party and fearful of offending voters in the traditional early states,
pledged not to campaign in Florida. But now that it seems that Hillary
Clinton might do well in the Florida election (and now that Iowa and
New Hampshire are done), her campaign is proclaiming, Honor the Florida voter.

Reporters on the Clinton call asked if the Clinton crew was trying
to have it both ways: not campaigning in Florida (when doing so could
have hurt her elsewhere) but now claiming its delegates should be
recognized. Not at all, said Mark Penn, her chief strategist, and
Howard Wolfson, her communications director. Should you be "seen as
desperate"? one reporter asked. "Something unexpected happened," Penn
explained, referring to the reported large turn-out in Florida.

Most of the scribes on the call appeared to believe the Clintons
were taking a somewhat situational position. And on the Obama campaign
conference call, John Kerry hammered this point. He claimed that
Hillary Clinton had said there would be no delegates coming out of
FLorida, yet now she was adopting a different stance. The pro-Clinton
AFSCME union, he noted, had blanketed Florida with pro-CLinton
literature in a "subcampaign." He slapped the Clinton campaign for
switching its position and not playing by the rules.

 

Posted in UncategorizedTagged

Leave a Reply

