Unless you count push-ups with “Infinite Jest” on your back.

I know her previous book is popular with some working writers, but this one smells like B.S. to me:

Over the course of the past
twenty-five years, Julia Cameron has taught thousands of artists and
aspiring artists how to unblock wellsprings of creativity. And time and
again she has noticed an interesting thing: Often, in uncovering their
creative selves her students also undergo a surprising physical
transformation-invigorated by their work, they slim down.

In The
Writing Diet
, Cameron illuminates the relationship between creativity
and eating to reveal a crucial equation: creativity can block
overeating. This inspiring weight-loss program, which can be used in
conjunction with Cameron’s groundbreaking book on the creative process,
The Artist’s Way, directs readers to count words instead of calories,
to substitute their writing’s food for thought for actual food. Using
journaling to examine their relationship with food-and to ward off
unhealthy overeating -readers will learn to treat food cravings as
invitations to evaluate what they are truly craving in their emotional
lives. The Writing Diet presents a brilliant plan for using one of the
soul’s deepest and most abiding appetites-the desire to be creative-to
lose weight and keep it off forever.

"I’m a creativity expert, not a
diet expert. So why am I writing a book about weight loss? Because I
have accidentally stumbled upon a weight-loss secret that works. For
twenty-five years I’ve taught creative unblocking, a twelve-week
process based on my book The Artist’s Way. From the front of the
classroom I’ve seen lives transformed-and, to my astonishment, bodies
transformed as well. It took me a while to recognize what wasgoing on,
but sure enough, students who began the course on the plump side ended
up visibly leaner and more fit. What’s going on here? I asked myself.
Was it my imagination, or was there truly a before and an after?"

Dissent is welcome.

Posted in UncategorizedTagged

Leave a Reply

