One year later.

It’s the 31st, and at the risk of attracting Typepad’s attention to the fact that I now owe them more money I do not have, it’s been about a year since I migrated Condalmo here from Blogger.  I’d been considering moving back – money’s tight, and other folks wring out a good site from Blogger’s tools – but this news is just the latest in why I’m glad I’m here:

Malicious hackers have supposedly been successful in gaining access to some blogs and posting fake entries with weblinks that lead to infectious downloads on Windows PC’s. A security researcher started noticing the corrupt links turning up in Blogger accounts on August 27th. Since then hundreds of blogs have been reported to contain the malicious links. The researcher could not tell how the links were posted. They could have been posted through a Blogger exploit, through a feature that lets users email an entry, or the blogs could have been also set up solely to host spam and no hacking could have occurred at all.

So far the links appear to pose as YouTube links, others are looking for software testers, and others are links to supposed digital greeting cards. No word from Google on the matter.

No thanks.  Blogger: Google’s neglected middle child.  I’ll pick up some overtime, drink Yuban instead of CBB for a couple of weeks, whatever. 

So, happy birthday to Condalmo.  I feel like I’ve neglected the place recently, but I appreciate that folks continue to come here and read about my thoughts, pursuits, complaints, and appreciations.  I’m looking forward to another year of dynamite books.  Thanks.

Posted in UncategorizedTagged

7 thoughts on “One year later.

  1. Congrats, you’re a daily read. Have you considered WordPress, though? WordPress.com’s hosting is free, and I don’t know about how much TypePad costs but $3 a month can get you a web host on which you could install wordpress yourself.

  2. Yes, well done. I always read your posts, although I confess I’m not a habitual commenter. We are Facebook friends, though, which counts for so much more these days.

    I know somebody – a prominent political blogger here in Oz – whose Blogger account was hijacked by malicious types. He was able to regain control of his blogs after a couple of days and intervention from Blogger, but still it was a nasty experience and a lesson to us Blogger users: change your password to something uncrackable!

Leave a Reply

