Break the code, solve the crime.

So.  Faced with a number of contenders for my next read, I was flipping though one of them the other night, dead tired, asleep on my feet in the living room.  A short story collection, with an introduction that asserted that short story collections are not meant to be read as novels are read; you shouldn’t read them cover to cover, but dip in, read a story, then shelve it, move to something/someone else, go back later.  To be eaten in small servings, rather than in one big meal.  This is the only way to really appreciate the individuality of each story, to stop them from overlapping each other, blending, blurring.  Cool, thinks I, and somehow I end up in bed.

Except now, I can’t find where I read that little idea.  I can’t find it in any of those contenders.  Nor any of the other books in the general vicinity of where I was standing at that moment.  I was the only person in the room.  Continued sleep deprivation has me wondering if I imagined reading it, some sort of strange deprivation fever dream.  Does it make sense?  Can anyone source this idea, or am I to thank/blame?  Is there more to it that I cannot remember? 

At any rate, I’ve proceeded to ignore my own advice and am enjoying helping after helping of Roy Kesey’s All Over.  A nine mile long painting; an institute of perfection; a castle made out of Pizza Hut salad bar toppings.  I’m All Over it!

Posted in UncategorizedTagged

One thought on “Break the code, solve the crime.

  1. In the intro she says, “”Stories are not chapters of novels. They should not be read one after another, as if they were meant to follow along. Read one. Shut the book. Read something else. Come back later. Stories can wait.”

    Perhaps the jacket of Paris Stories quotes her?

Leave a Reply

