No one belongs here more than you.

Wondering what’s up with Miranda July’s first story collection, No one belongs here more than you?  The internets provide, my friends.  You can decide for yourselves whether she falls on the side of "overrated talentless hack" or "amazing new voice."  Excerpt:

It still counts, even
though it happened when he was unconscious. It counts doubly because
the conscious mind often makes mistakes, falls for the wrong person.
But down there in the well, where there is no light and only
thousand-year-old water, a man has no reason to make mistakes. God says
do it and you do it. Love her and it is so. He is my neighbour. He is
of Korean descent. His name is Vincent Chang. He doesn’t do hapkido.
When you say the word "Korean", some people automatically think of
Jackie Chan’s South Korean hapkido instructor, Grandmaster Kim Jin Pal;
I think of Vincent.

What
is the most terrifying thing that has ever happened to you? Did it
involve a car? Was it on a boat? Did an animal do it? If you answered
yes to any of these questions, then I am not surprised. Cars crash,
boats sink, and animals are just scary. Why not do yourself a favour
and stay away from these things.

Vincent
has a wife named Helena. She is Greek with blond hair. It’s dyed. I was
going to be polite and not mention that it was dyed, but I really don’t
think she cares if anyone knows. In fact, I think she is going for the
dyed look, with the roots showing. What if she and I were close
friends. What if I borrowed her clothes and she said, That looks better
on you, you should keep it. What if she called me in tears, and I had
to come over and soothe her in the kitchen, and Vincent tried to come
into the kitchen and we said, Stay out, this is girl talk! I saw
something like that happen on TV; these two women were talking about
some stolen underwear and a man came in and they said, Stay out, this
is girl talk! One reason Helena and I would never be close friends is
that I am about half as tall as she. People tend to stick to their own
size group because it’s easier on the neck. Unless they are
romantically involved, in which case the size difference is sexy. It
means: I am willing to go the distance for you.

Posted in UncategorizedTagged

2 thoughts on “No one belongs here more than you.

  1. I vote the former. Did you see that film she did? I was so bored I was on the verge of going outside to the mow the lawn with my teeth. It would’ve been much more exciting and worth my time.

  2. I vote the former. Did you see that film she did? I was so bored I was on the verge of going outside to the mow the lawn with my teeth. It would’ve been much more exciting and worth my time.

Leave a Reply

